NEET UG · BDS

BDS admission 2026

How to get a dental seat with your NEET score: who counsels which seats, what colleges charge, and what to watch for.

Checked 28 October 2026 against official notices; rows taken from news reports are labelled.

BDS (Bachelor of Dental Surgery) is the dental degree you can take with a NEET UG score. Under the DCI Revised BDS Course Regulations 2007 (as amended), BDS is 4 academic years with 240 teaching days each, plus a compulsory one-year paid rotating internship, and the degree is granted only after the internship. A BDS student must clear the whole course, including the one-year compulsory rotatory paid internship, within 9 years from admission or be discharged.

Duration
4 years + 1-year paid internship
Entrance
NEET UG
Colleges
324 (list)
Regulator
National Dental Commission

Eligibility

  • A BDS candidate must have passed Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English individually with at least 50% aggregate in PCB (40% for SC/ST/OBC; 45% for candidates with locomotory disability of lower limbs) and must qualify NEET.
  • A BDS candidate must be at least 17 years old on or before 31 December of the year of admission.

NEET UG 2026: who qualified

  • NTA declared the NEET (UG) 2026 result on 16 July 2026; 11.21 lakh of about 20 lakh appearing candidates qualified (1,121,185 qualified out of 1,999,895 appeared).
  • NEET (UG) 2026 qualifying cut-off for UR/EWS (50th percentile) was 715-213 marks.
  • NEET (UG) 2026 qualifying cut-off for OBC, SC and ST (40th percentile) was 212-177 marks.
  • NEET (UG) 2026 qualifying cut-off for UR/EWS-PwBD (45th percentile) was 212-194 marks; for OBC-PwBD and SC-PwBD (40th percentile) 193-177; for ST-PwBD (40th percentile) 191-177.

How BDS seats are filled

  • MCC (all-India): MCC (DGHS) conducts counselling for 15% All India Quota seats, 100% deemed university seats, central universities (DU, AMU, BHU incl. institutional quota), ESIC, and IP University institutes including ESIC Dental Delhi (15% AIQ + 85% institutional quota).
  • Open to all states: MCC's domicile-free open BDS seats include 15% AIQ BDS seats of states, 100% BDS seats of BHU, 15% AIQ seats of DU/IP University (incl. ESIC Dental), Jamia Millia Islamia's Faculty of Dentistry open seats, and 15% AIQ seats of ESIC.
  • MAIDS Delhi: Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences (MAIDS) is counselled by MCC under Delhi University: 15% seats go to All India Quota and 85% to Delhi state quota for candidates who studied Classes 11 and 12 in NCT of Delhi.
  • State counselling: For state quota seats and private medical/dental colleges under state authority, candidates must apply to the respective state government counselling/admission authority; MCC does not handle these.
  • MCC's 2026 bulletin lists AIIMS seats only as MBBS seats (100% MBBS seats of AIIMS); it lists no AIIMS BDS seats.

MCC's 2026 UG counselling has four rounds for AIQ: Round 1, Round 2, Round 3 and a Stray Vacancy Round, all conducted online. AIQ reservation in MCC counselling: SC 15%, ST 7.5%, OBC-NCL 27%, EWS 10%, and 5% horizontal PwD reservation.

MCC fees to register

  • MCC registration for AIQ/central university seats costs Rs 1,000 non-refundable plus Rs 10,000 refundable security for UR/EWS candidates, and Rs 500 plus Rs 5,000 for SC/ST/OBC/PwD candidates.
  • MCC registration for deemed universities costs a non-refundable Rs 5,000 plus a refundable security deposit of Rs 2,00,000.

Where can your rank get a BDS seat? Our free NEET college predictor covers BDS with MCC 2026 closing ranks, and each college has its own page in the BDS college list.

BDS fees by state (per year)

State fee committees fix private dental fees every year. Below are the 2026-27 figures we have checked; where we have not yet seen the official order we show the figure a news site reported, labelled as such.

Tamil Nadu · Government₹16,073 / year · 2026-27

Total annual fee in government dental colleges (tuition Rs 4,000 + special Rs 2,000 + caution Rs 1,000 + library Rs 1,000 + university Rs 7,473 + misc). SC/SCA/ST pay Rs 12,073. Prospectus for MBBS/BDS, Govt Quota, 2026-2027 session.
Official: tnmedicalselection.net

Tamil Nadu · Private₹2,50,000 / year · 2026-27

Government quota seats in all self-financing dental colleges, as fixed by the Fee Fixation Committee (subject to revision at counselling).
Official: tnmedicalselection.net

Tamil Nadu · Private₹6,00,000 / year · 2026-27

Management quota in all self-financing dental colleges (NRI quota Rs 9,00,000). Management Quota Prospectus 2026-2027 (G.O.(D) No.695, 12-06-2026).
Official: tnmedicalselection.net

Kerala · Government₹20,840 / year · 2026-27

Fee in government dental colleges per KEAM 2026 MBBS/BDS first-phase allotment notification (CEE Kerala).
Official: cee.kerala.gov.in

Kerala · Private₹3,47,487 – ₹3,67,502 / year · 2026-27 (provisional, 2025-26 rates)

Self-financing dental colleges, general fee: Rs 3,47,487 (Pushpagiri, Thiruvalla Rs 3,67,502); NRI fee Rs 6,30,000 (Pushpagiri Rs 6,66,288). These are the 2025-26 fees, charged provisionally for 2026-27 until the Fee Regulatory Committee/Govt finalises them. If the final 2026-27 fee is higher, students pay the balance.
Official: cee.kerala.gov.in

Karnataka · Government₹49,350 / year · 2026-27

Government Dental College Bengaluru and GDCRI Ballari; ESIC Dental College Kalaburagi Rs 1,09,350. As reported by neet2seat.com from the KEA 2026-27 fee order (GO MED 207 RGU 2026, 14 Aug 2026).
News report: neet2seat.com

Karnataka · Private₹95,308 – ₹7,45,000 / year · 2026-27

Rs 95,308 for government quota seats in private/minority colleges; private quota about Rs 2.87-7.45 lakh. As reported by neet2seat.com from the KEA 2026-27 fee order.
News report: neet2seat.com

Uttar Pradesh · Private₹2,93,000 – ₹5,52,960 / year · 2026-27

Non-minority private dental colleges, tuition only (19 colleges): lowest at Institute of Dental Sciences Bareilly / Dental College Azamgarh, highest at ITS Dental College Ghaziabad. As reported by neet2seat.com from the UP Medical Education order 71-4099/91/2026 of 1 Sep 2026.
News report: neet2seat.com

Rajasthan · Private₹2,50,000 – ₹4,50,000 / year · 2026-27

State (general) quota tuition across 15 private dental colleges (management quota up to Rs 6,50,000 at Pacific Dental College & Hospital, Udaipur). Copy of the college-provided fee list for Rajasthan NEET UG 2026, via edufever.com.
News report: edufever.com

Telangana · Private₹45,000 / year · 2026-27

A-category (convener) seats in private dental colleges; B-category (management) Rs 4.20-5 lakh; C-category (NRI) up to 1.25x B-category. Fees carried over from the 2023-26 block to the 2026-29 block.
News report: telanganatoday.com

Telangana · Private₹4,20,000 – ₹5,00,000 / year · 2026-27

B-category (management quota) BDS in private dental colleges, 2026-29 block.
News report: telanganatoday.com

Andhra Pradesh · Private₹15,730 / year · 2026-27

A-category BDS in private unaided dental colleges, interim fee for 2026-27 under GO 785; B-category Rs 4,84,000; C-category (NRI) Rs 14,52,000. Subject to pending writ petitions and final APHERMC fixation.
News report: deccanchronicle.com

Andhra Pradesh · Private₹4,84,000 / year · 2026-27

B-category (management) BDS, interim 2026-27 (GO 785).
News report: deccanchronicle.com

West Bengal · Private₹2,00,000 – ₹2,25,000 / year · 2026-27

State quota BDS in 4 private dental colleges (Haldia Rs 2 lakh; Gurunanak, KSD Jain, Sanaka Rs 2.25 lakh); management quota Rs 5.5-6 lakh. Reported approved fee structure for WB NEET UG 2026 round 1.
News report: news.careers360.com

West Bengal · Private₹5,50,000 – ₹6,00,000 / year · 2026-27

Management quota BDS in private dental colleges, 2026.
News report: news.careers360.com

Maharashtra · Government₹1,22,400 / year · 2025-26

Government dental college BDS annual fee (open category), 2025-26 figure; the 2026-27 order is not yet on this page.
News report: medicaldialogues.in

Maharashtra · Private₹2,65,000 – ₹5,93,000 / year · 2025-26

Private unaided BDS, 2025-26: lowest ACPM Dental College Dhule, highest Sinhgad Dental College Pune; the 2026-27 order is not yet on this page.
News report: medicaldialogues.in

Deemed university BDS fees

Deemed universities set their own fees; all seats go through MCC. From each university's 2026-27 fee notice:

Karnataka · Deemed university₹5,05,000 – ₹5,10,000 / year · 2026-27
KLE V.K. Institute of Dental Sciences, Belagavi (KAHER)

Year 1 Rs 5,10,000; years 2-4 Rs 5,05,000 (general category). NRI USD 12,500 (yr1) / USD 11,000. Hostel, exam and consumables extra. KAHER notice dated 24 July 2026.
Official: kaher.edu.in

Karnataka · Deemed university₹4,15,000 / year · 2026-27
Manipal College of Dental Sciences, Manipal (MAHE)

Tuition per year; other fee Rs 1,38,000 in year 1; first instalment Rs 5,63,000 including a Rs 10,000 refundable caution deposit; total course fee Rs 22,22,000 for the 2026-27 batch. Updated 19 Aug 2026.
Official: evbab.manipal.edu

Karnataka · Deemed university₹3,69,000 / year · 2026-27
Manipal College of Dental Sciences, Mangalore (MAHE)

Tuition per year; other fee Rs 1,24,000 in year 1 (first-instalment total Rs 5,03,000); total course fee Rs 19,82,000 for the 2026-27 batch. Updated 19 Aug 2026.
Official: evbab.manipal.edu

Maharashtra · Deemed university₹7,50,000 / year · 2026-27
Dr. D. Y. Patil Dental College & Hospital, Pune (Dr. D. Y. Patil Vidyapeeth)

Annual tuition, All India merit category; tuition rises 3% a year. One-time university eligibility fee Rs 1,12,500; hostel incl. mess Rs 3,40,000. NRI/FN USD 17,500/yr.
Official: dental.dpu.edu.in

Maharashtra · Deemed university₹4,50,000 / year · 2026-27
School of Dental Sciences, Krishna Vishwa Vidyapeeth, Karad

Annual tuition, general quota (95 of 100 seats); NRI USD 7,000. One-time eligibility fee Rs 50,000; hostel Rs 99,000/yr without mess.
Official: kvv.edu.in

Odisha · Deemed university₹6,00,000 / year · 2026-27
Institute of Dental Sciences, Siksha 'O' Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar

Course fee per annum; exam charge Rs 2,500; refundable caution Rs 5,000. Internship stipend Rs 13,000/month. Scholarships of Rs 50,000-1,00,000/yr by NEET percentile or category.
Official: Fee Structure for the admission Year 2026-27 (BDS Programme), soa.ac.in

Tamil Nadu · Deemed university₹6,00,000 / year · Year not stated by the college
Sri Ramachandra Dental College & Hospital, Chennai (SRIHER)

'Program Fees Per Year' on the official programme page, which does not state the academic year or split tuition from other charges.
Official: sriramachandra.edu

Hostel, mess, deposits and one-time university fees are extra. We confirm the exact figure in writing before you fill choices.

Leaving a seat: bonds and penalties

  • Tamil Nadu's 2026-27 prospectus sets a Rs 10,00,000 discontinuation fee for MBBS/BDS candidates who leave the course after the permitted Round 2 resignation date, or who do not join after a Round 3/stray allotment.
  • Delhi University's 2026 MBBS/BDS bulletin requires every admitted candidate to execute a Rs 3 lakh surety bond with two sureties, payable if the student leaves the course, surrenders the seat against MCC rules, or is removed for misconduct.
  • Haryana's 27 August 2026 admission notification imposes a Rs 10 lakh bond and a three-year bar on Haryana MBBS/BDS admission for students who leave the course on or after 15 December 2026. (news report)

We found no official BDS rural-service bond in the 2026 notices we checked.

Who regulates BDS now

The Central Government constituted the National Dental Commission with effect from 19 March 2026 under the National Dental Commission Act, 2023 (Gazette notification S.O. 1447(E)), with Dr. Sanjay Tewari as Chairperson. The NDC has three autonomous boards: the Under-Graduate and Post-Graduate Dental Education Board, the Dental Assessment and Rating Board, and the Ethics and Dental Registration Board. In August 2026 the NDC's UG-PG Dental Education Board warned colleges that BDS/MDS admissions must be made only through NEET and the prescribed common counselling, within approved intake, with details uploaded on the NDC admission portal. (news report)

After BDS

  • NEET-MDS 2026 is the single eligibility-cum-ranking exam for MDS admission for the 2026 session, and NBEMS's role is limited to conducting it and declaring the result.
  • To sit NEET-MDS a candidate needs a recognised BDS degree, provisional or permanent registration with a State Dental Council, and completion of the one-year compulsory rotatory internship by the cut-off date.
  • NEET-MDS 2026, conducted by NBEMS, was scheduled for 2 May 2026, with 31 May 2026 as the internship-completion cut-off for eligibility and the result due by 2 June 2026.

More courses after NEET

Sources

Common questions

Is NEET required for BDS?

Yes. Every BDS seat in India, including deemed and private colleges, is filled through NEET UG and the prescribed counselling.

How long is BDS?

Five years: four years of study and a one-year compulsory paid rotatory internship. The degree is given after the internship.

What is the BDS fee in a government college?

It varies by state. In Tamil Nadu's 2026-27 prospectus it is ₹16,073 a year in all; in Kerala government dental colleges ₹20,840.

Can I get BDS in another state?

Yes, through MCC's 15% All India Quota of government colleges and all deemed university seats, which need no domicile. Some states also open part of their private seats to other states; for example, Kerala's 15% All India Quota seats in self-financing dental colleges.

Free counselling

Get free help with NEET counselling

Share a few details and a counsellor will check your eligibility, confirm current fees and walk you through admission.

  • Eligibility check against your NEET score
  • Realistic options in India and abroad for your score
  • Full fee breakdown in writing

Get NEET deadline alerts on WhatsApp

Free. Pick your exam and we'll message you before registration, choice-filling and result dates. You can ask us to stop at any time.